The Drug Report

Facts about what can go wrong when people use drugs

  • The Best Drug Info Ever?

    A big part of my inspiration for The Drug Report was Beth Pearce's amazing film, VOICE OF THE VICTIMS: TRUE STORIES OF ECSTASY AND KETAMINE. The film simply lets the victims of drug tragedies tell their stories. It's real life, it's undeniable, and it's incredibly powerful. I'm sure Beth has saved many, many lives, and it is my hope that this blog will do so as well. To learn more about her film, go to Voice Of The Victims.

    FACTS ARE FACTS

    A friend of mine likes to say, "You're entitled to your own opinion, but not your own facts."

    When it comes to drugs, there are lots of opinions out there: Some think drugs are safe and fun, some think they're dangerous and frightening, and many think everything in between.

    But facts are facts, and when someone dies from drugs, or someone is murdered by a person who is on drugs, or is raped by someone who has given them drugs, that's just a fact. Drug users who actively promote drug use rail against these facts, and I expect they'll be commenting regularly on The Drug Report. But they can't change the facts.

Heroin Doesn’t Always Kill Scummy Junkies

Posted by Childress on July 19, 2006

Here’s a sad story out of New Jersey via the Passaic County Herald News that paints a different picture of heroin overdoses.  This isn’t a story of some guy living on the street, lost to his family, stealing to support his habit.

A young man’s battle with drug addiction ended tragically this week, police said… .

Christopher Loeffler apparently injected heroin at his family’s home on Sunday, after looking bright-eyed and healthy moments before, his father said.

On Tuesday, Loeffler’s loved ones gathered to remember the outgoing 20-year-old man who graduated from the township’s high school last year.

“He’d been battling this thing for about a couple of years off and on,” Robert Loeffler said of his son’s drug addiction. “We couldn’t tell for sure when he was using. Lately, we thought he had turned a corner. But that’s the life of an addict.” …

A wake was to be held today for Loeffler, who turned 20 this month. He had started working as a technician for a Lincoln Park filter company in June and enjoyed weightlifting and spending time with his friends and family, his father said.

On Tuesday, friends spent the afternoon in the family’s living room putting together a memorial for today’s viewing at the M. John Scanlan Funeral Home.

“He was a very social person and made friends all over the place,” his father said. “He was a fun-loving spirit and everyone’s going to miss him. For now, we’re all just holding together as best as we can.”

Please say a prayer for the Loeffler family.  Their loss must be overwhelming.

4 Responses to “Heroin Doesn’t Always Kill Scummy Junkies”

  1. Dear Readers..

    I moved to NJ from PA in 2000. I started HighSchool at PTHS where I soon met Chris…

    There are people you met that you will never forget… And Chris was one of my good friends for 5 Years. We spent weekends, weekdays and days togather for 5 Years. I have nothing but good times with Chris. I remember his birthday party at a hotel just a week before he left us all. I remember laying down next to him when we passed out for the night and sayin to him… I can’t wait till you turn 21 bro, where gonna go to the city… Chris said .. Hell ya bro, I can’t f****’n wait!..

    I chilled with him again later that week, 3days before he overdosed the 2nd time and we where sitting in are friends car and I said, bro I see signs of things I dont like, please tell me your not doin dope again… Nah bro, I promise… Looked me dead in the eye… He was able to lie to all his goodfriends, ones he didn’t get doped-up that he was clean.. Me and are “Crew” where on him all the time, and I’m pissed that, that night at his birthday I didn’t follow thru with my idea to check him into rehab and force him thru it cause I loved him to the point, that I’m glad he lived thru his last O.D. he should me greatful that he got a 2nd chance…

    With that all said, I’m out…. He was a amazing person… So much so that he lives on in all are hearts.. It’s not that your gone, but I know we all feel as if your still here, partyin’ it up with us all, 24-7!

    -1 Love Homez.. See you in Thugz Mansion!!!

  2. Dr. PeaceOnEarth said

    SCUMMY JUNKIES?

    Usually people point the finger at others problems in order to not look inside themselves at their own. Maybe you should check out an “AA” or “NA” meeting. They will teach you how to take your own inventory instead of others, and show you the most beautiful way of life I have ever seen God created us all equal. Not everyone lived sugar coated lives. Unfourtanaty most of these “SCUMMY JUNKIES” wound up on smack due to brutal unspeakable abuse that permenatly left their brains in a state that they switch from the frontal cortex (all reasoning and human thought) to the midbrain (survival-“snake” brain)to run off of when the cortical fluid in the brain hits a certain level. For many, their first chance at feeling inner peace in life is a result of the program of recovery. If only everyone on earth saw their need to live the way that program teaches them to live and to love.

  3. Childress said

    As I pointed out on another of your comments Doc, I’ve been through recovery for addiction and praise God for my sobriety. My experience tells me that legalizing drugs is not the answer to addiction.

  4. Kendel said

    YOU CAN HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Before its too late!

    It is easy to help these people if “you” can realize what needs to be done. Somethings you should get them tested if its your kids, and If its a older user confront them about it, and after a talk decide the best route of actions as “you” being an onlooker/outsider you can help make the choice. I also said that I Should Have Forced Chris Loeffler to get help. He was my friend and I still wanted to be “cool” and let people live there own lives. I’m big on people choosing there own ways in life, but if life is going to be put in danger, you should jump in regaurdless what needs to be done to get it done. Chris told me alots of times everything was all good. He would smoke weed like everyone in the whole world seems to do everywhere I go and other people go. But the coke seems to be a adult drug, …  Some are more dangerious. I would like to see people get involved before its too late, cause you have to live the rest of your life dealing with the “what if” question, and what life could have been like later in life for someone who’s life ends young and quick.

    I lost my mother to kidney and liver falure due to liqour indused Hep-C. When I 15yrs old I had spent 3years tryin gto help my mother over come her sickness and knew all too well at a young age who people where who needed help before it was too late. I know know that I will not just site back anymore… I will stand up and get people help, dont just talk.. Me and my Dad talked about helping my Mom for years of my younger life, and we did nothing. Me and friends talked about getting Chris help, but sat around just letting the world go by. But Dont Do IT!… Help Someone if you can.. Even if they don’t thank you, or like you afterwards… Who cares, they are still around to talk too!!

    GoodNight..

    Edited (slightly) by Childress

Leave a Reply

 
