The Drug Report

Facts about what can go wrong when people use drugs

  • The Best Drug Info Ever?

    A big part of my inspiration for The Drug Report was Beth Pearce's amazing film, VOICE OF THE VICTIMS: TRUE STORIES OF ECSTASY AND KETAMINE. The film simply lets the victims of drug tragedies tell their stories. It's real life, it's undeniable, and it's incredibly powerful. I'm sure Beth has saved many, many lives, and it is my hope that this blog will do so as well. To learn more about her film, go to Voice Of The Victims.

    FACTS ARE FACTS

    A friend of mine likes to say, "You're entitled to your own opinion, but not your own facts."

    When it comes to drugs, there are lots of opinions out there: Some think drugs are safe and fun, some think they're dangerous and frightening, and many think everything in between.

    But facts are facts, and when someone dies from drugs, or someone is murdered by a person who is on drugs, or is raped by someone who has given them drugs, that's just a fact. Drug users who actively promote drug use rail against these facts, and I expect they'll be commenting regularly on The Drug Report. But they can't change the facts.

Gangs Suspected in Pieper/Veluz Murders

Posted by Childress on August 5, 2006

Police now suspect that a local gangster, Jeremy Hanson Henry, may be responsible for the deaths of Raymond Veluz and Derek Pieper, which I posted on a couple days ago.  Here’s a report from the Tampa (FL) Tribune:

Long before Jeremy Hanson Henry became the suspect in the brutal shooting deaths of two teenagers in Trilby, he was a wanted man.

Dade City police have been looking for the 21-year-old reputed gang leader since early May, when he reportedly crashed through bushes outside a KFC in a rented car and led police on a high-speed chase for several blocks before he disappeared.

At the time, Henry was suspected of planning to rob the restaurant at gunpoint.

He’s been on the run ever since.

On Wednesday, the Pasco County Sheriff’s Office identified Henry as a “person of interest” in the slayings of Raymond Veluz, 18, and Derek Pieper, 17, whose bodies were found early July 28 on a secluded country road in Trilby. Sheriff’s office spokesman Doug Tobin said Henry is a suspect in the slayings.

That morning, neighbors in the rural community northwest of Dade City told investigators they heard what sounded like firecrackers going off about 5 a.m. The bodies were discovered a short time later, side by side in the road.

Perhaps, as some commenters have said, these unfortunate kids were simply in the wrong place at the wrong time.  It still hasn’t been reported why they went there at 5 a.m.  I’ll follow the story and provide updates.

6 Responses to “Gangs Suspected in Pieper/Veluz Murders”

  1. anonymous said

    i teach at the school where these boys went up until last year. I can only speak for Ray Veluz by saying that as a student of mine, he was an extremely talented and well spoken young man. While he did make some bad choices, and while it doesnt suprise me that his choices were the direct cause of his demise, I feel horrible about what has taken place. What makes matters worse, is that the news agencies are portraing Ray as a “thug”. So much information has been gathered and reported about Dekrek Pieper (whom I have never met), yet when i read the follow-ups about Ray, it saddens me to no end that these reporters haven’t done a good job at collecting the. Here’s one wonderful thing about Ray Veluz that no one took the time to find out. Ray was an extremely talented poet. On the very night before his death not more than 12 hours before he was killed, he contacted me to tell me that he was in the process of sending his work to a publisher. As his former teacher and friend, I was so supportive of him and happy that he was making better choices. The most painful part to all this is that now he will take his God-given gift with him to the grave.

  2. A FRIEND said

    Im a friend of Ray’s family in NY. Thank you for having something nice to say about Ray. I understand the family doesn’t want to talk but I’m glad someone did. To the Anonymous writer, thank you. Thanks for believing in Ray. He would have gone far. He was a smart kid just like his sister.

  3. Amanda said

    Hi.My name is Amanda and I was a friend of Derek..HE was a sweet boy.I liked him alot as a friend.I am the girlfriend of one of the suspects and I know he would never do suck a thing.He and I both liked hollister alot.In my opinon, yes they were very nice but I really just know that they got caught up in things that they shouldnt of.I know Derek was a great guy and its hard to believe but im pretty sure this hole thing is drug realated!But there is never any kind of excuse to take someones life!

  4. WHOKNOWS said

    Hey this is a friend of Dereks and a friend of the suspects..actually we were all friends..But I never would of thought any of this.Truely I know what this all sums up to be about.Yes it is drug related.No matter how much anyone dosent want to believe it..its true.And this is all the doings of one person…******.Yes I think they all got mixed up with one wrong person.And we will soon here of who it is.I know it.I always knew he was not a good person to be around really.I have met him a few times but never chilled with him.I knew off top he was bad news..I send my blessings to the familys of Derek and Ray’s!

  5. My2cents. said

    RIP Derek Pieper && Raymond Veluz.
    Derek was a friend of mine…Never to be forgotten.

    Anymore, all life is about to MANY of my friends is “Living in the MOMEnt”. (The moment, now, Present)… No longer exist as of 1 second later, it’s only a matter of mind set that we have created. Tomorrow, today will be history… a time of the past. Living in the moment is merely an allusion. && as we live it up “in the moment” Not many of us think of how that very moment will affect the rest of our lives. Is it beneficial or meaningless? Most would change the way they spend every instant if they could see the final product of their actions.

    Just a thought…

    I love you Derek.

    God Bless Both of your Families.

  6. Anonymous said

    Derek was a good kid until he started dating a certain person. She really introduced him into the drug scene which ultimately led to his demise. It’s so sad to see someone with such a long life ahead of them die in this manner. My deepest sympathies go out to the victims’ families.

Leave a Reply

 
