The Drug Report

Facts about what can go wrong when people use drugs

  • The Best Drug Info Ever?

    A big part of my inspiration for The Drug Report was Beth Pearce's amazing film, VOICE OF THE VICTIMS: TRUE STORIES OF ECSTASY AND KETAMINE. The film simply lets the victims of drug tragedies tell their stories. It's real life, it's undeniable, and it's incredibly powerful. I'm sure Beth has saved many, many lives, and it is my hope that this blog will do so as well. To learn more about her film, go to Voice Of The Victims.

    FACTS ARE FACTS

    A friend of mine likes to say, "You're entitled to your own opinion, but not your own facts."

    When it comes to drugs, there are lots of opinions out there: Some think drugs are safe and fun, some think they're dangerous and frightening, and many think everything in between.

    But facts are facts, and when someone dies from drugs, or someone is murdered by a person who is on drugs, or is raped by someone who has given them drugs, that's just a fact. Drug users who actively promote drug use rail against these facts, and I expect they'll be commenting regularly on The Drug Report. But they can't change the facts.

Sex And Violence At Raves

Posted by Childress on September 22, 2006

Some pro-drug people who attack this blog claim that there is no violence at raves.  I offer this point of view as an alternative view, from the Hong Kong Standard:

A former drug abuser who identified herself as Ah Sze said once she entered a disco she felt compelled to take drugs.

“The atmosphere made me want to take drugs. Even if I didn’t want to take drugs for some days, when I went in and saw everyone having drugs, I felt that I wanted to join them,” the 20-year-old said. …

She said Ecstasy cost HK$100 a pill, and ketamine HK$150 a packet. Friends spent up to HK$1,000 a night on drugs, but she spent HK$200. …

The drugs exposed girls to the risk of sexual assault, she said, resulting in her being molested.

“Once I was touched by many boys. I knew that, but I didn’t know how to resist. I had no strength. I couldn’t even move my legs. Once I got up, I fell down immediately.”

She said that discos were also a place for brawls, each night seeing one or two fights.

Don’t be fooled into thinking is always lovely with club drugs.

2 Responses to “Sex And Violence At Raves”

  1. Dodgy said

    Alcohol is responsible for more acts of violence and rape than all other drugs combined. Aclohol is the only drug a club is licensed to sell, and many people go there simply to drink.

    Raves are not held in clubs or discos, they’re outside parties and in almost ever instance arn’t licensed to sell alcohol. This makes a big difference.

    If I go to a rave, illegal drugs are the preferance and with the exceptions of cocaine and amphetamine, they are far more likely to make you hug each other than fight.

    If I go to licensed club I will be far more wary because of the levels of alcohol being consumed.

    I have never been to a rave and seen a brawl, but see many everytime I go out into town.

  2. Childress said

    The article was about Hong Kong, where discos apparently ARE the site for the closest thing they have there to raves.

    Because alcohol is legal, far more people use it than use club drugs, which of course are illegal. Consequently, there will be more fights from alcohol simply because there are more people “on” alcohol.

    I thought the story’s reference to fights at a club drug scene was interesting. An accompanying article, which I didn’t post, covered a study of drug use and violence at these clubs, and it verified what the woman said — fights among, as I recall, between 2 and 3 percent of those in attendance. That sounds like a much higher percent of the number of people who go to pubs and fight, but I have no data on that.

    I agree that alcohol is a dangerous drug — no argument there.

Leave a Reply

 
